Working Sick

smoke detector (05-04-08)

Image by sun dazed via Flickr

 

It’s days like these where I ponder the necessity of work.  Here I am, slumped over at my desk, ready to die in flannel.  I spent the night not feeling so great, head ready to explode, too hot to sleep.  When I finally fell asleep, the smoke detector battery died and we couldn’t get it to stop, even when we ripped it out of the ceiling.  I finally got some rest at around 6 and decided work was not in the cards today.  I emailed in while laying in bed only to get the response that a sick day would not be an option and I should head on in when I can…

So I continue to answer the phone with my cheery voice and let me people sit at my desk and tell me about their problems with planning and prioritizing.  All I’m hearing is the voice of the adults on Charlie Brown “WAh Wah Wah?” 

I know that there are more important things going on today.  There is a fire in the mountains outside of town.  (http://www.9news.com/news/article.aspx?storyid=151618&catid=339), there are people without homes right now, and bills that need to be payed.  That’s why I’m here, not for the love of the job but because I should be here.  I’m not sure if that is committment or stupidity but it doesn’t really matter at this point, I’m here until 6, sick or not.

Is work really worth it?  Is that I haven’t found the job that I love enough to work through anything?  Is there really such a thing?  I hope that when I go back to school, I will have the same drive I had before and working sick won’t be so hard.

Is there anything you do that is worth doing sick?

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

