Well that was … interesting

So yesterday I had the delightful opportunity again to spend some quality time with the pups yesterday doing nothing really but cleaning out the DVR.  It was amazing!  I did a little picking up, some light laundry, and stopped by the bank.  Even cleaned up the garden area a little.  However the majority the day was spent enjoying tea and pumpkin bar on the couch.  No pictures because I also spent the majority of the day looking like a homeless person.

Once the Husband got home, we headed over the Left Hand to get a beer and drop off some excess pumpkin goodies.  Apparently pumpkin goodies = cheap beer so we were pleasantly delighted.  It was also a Farmer’s Market night so we perused the tasty things but didn’t get anything this time.  The Guerilla Farms guy, Timpson, was there so we picked his brain about making Butternut Squash soup/bisque.  We got some pointers and decided to get some beer to take home to smooth out the soup. 

After two hours of roasting and prepping (and eating salad to stave off hunger) the soup was ready.

It is a little garlicky for our liking, which is saying a lot as I can ususally eat garlic plain.  Next time, I think we will halve the garlic and try again.  The color was nice, most of the taste was good, and the texture was nice.  The Husband thinks that we should serve it with a protein to balance out the flavor.  We are going to have the leftovers with some grilled chicken. 

We hadn’t eaten squash on a regular basis and that is twice in one week.  Luckily, winter squash lasts a long time so we will be stocking up and storing it in our basement.  I will definitely be posting the successful recipes.

Any new tastes that you are enjoying?

5 Comments

Filed under Beer, Food

5 responses to “Well that was … interesting

  1. kathleendailycrumb

    yum! bummer about the garlic-ness, but still looks delish!

  2. Hmm it seems like your site ate my first comment (it was extremely long) so I guess I’ll just sum it up what I had written and say, I’m thoroughly enjoying your blog. I as well am an aspiring blog blogger but I’m still new to the whole thing. Do you have any tips and hints for inexperienced blog writers? I’d genuinely appreciate it.

Leave a Reply

