Now reading “Love at First Bark”!

 

Julie Klam’s Love at First Bark is truly a love story!  Not the traditional boy meets girl love story but more of girl meets many dogs and always finds room to love them!  Julie Klam shows how the ever changing menagerie of dogs, her husband, and school age daughter deal with the daily chores of dog ownership in the city as well as the very important job of volunteering as a foster parent for dogs looking for their forever homes. 

I was not raised in a dog house but now that I have a dog, I can’t allow myself to look at rescue dogs because I would want to take every single one home!  This book does a great job of showing how a person can love a dog and make it a part of your heart without always making them a permanent part of your home.  Ms. Klam identifies the several stories that have led to her current family of dogs, including the tragic story of Moses, a foster dog who was killed in an accident, to the story of Clementine, a dog who needed some extra attention and love to find her forever home.  While each story could stand on it’s own they also color one another.  She shows that the memories from the last dog shape the love for the current one. 

The book is an easy read, full of cute stories, heart warming moments, and lovable pups.  I think that this a must read for any pet owner, especially those considering a rescue dog or getting into pet fostering! 

 Read more about the discussion at the BlogHer Book Club and be sure to check out Julie Klam’s Website!

“I was compensated for this BlogHer Book Club review but all opinions expressed are my own.”

2 Comments

Filed under books

2 responses to “Now reading “Love at First Bark”!

  1. Wow that was odd. I just wrote an really long comment but after I clicked submit my comment didn’t show up. Grrrr… well I’m not writing all that over again. Anyway, just wanted to say excellent blog!

  2. Thanks for your personal marvelous posting! I definitely enjoyed reading it, you happen to be a great author.I will make certain to bookmark your blog and may come back someday. I want to encourage that you continue your great job, have a nice weekend!

Leave a Reply

