My first swim!

So this week I went to the gym for the first time to swim!  This was a major accomplishment for me because I have spent my life telling myself that I can’t swim.  I took swim lessons in first and second grade with no progress.  I took swim lessons as a college student and affirmed that I knew enough to get to the edge of the pool but not enough to look graceful while doing it.  The Husband’s parents have a pool (where Maggie proved she could swim) but I had only managed to balance a drink while floating on a noodle.

magswims

The Husband told me that he would be happy to share a lane with me while I did laps kicking with the kickboard while he swam and this didn’t seem to intimidating so I took him up on his offer.

I did 3 full laps!!  It was hard and I was sore this morning but it was worth it.  I did a lot of walking, half swimming, and messing around on my other laps but I did get some swimming and treading in.  The Husband had to teach me to tread but I figured it out.  He also tried to teach me how to float on my back.  I think we will go back tonight and try again.  I’m glad that I have found a new challenge that I enjoy!

What new things have you tried recently?

2 Comments

Filed under Family, Fitness, Uncategorized

2 responses to “My first swim!

  1. Swimming is a BIG deal. Your accomplishment is a BIG deal. Go you!

  2. Hello there! This is my first comment here so I just wanted to give a quick shout out and tell you I truly enjoy reading your posts. Can you suggest any other blogs/websites/forums that deal with the same topics? Thank you so much!

Leave a Reply

