Don’t lose yourself!

So I have definitely have to learn how to leave work at work.  I have a nasty habit of checking my work email on my phone, eating lunch at my desk, and explaining every deal to the Husband when I get home.  While it’s good to know that I will walk in to the office and there will be no surprises waiting in my voicemail, it does nothing for my personal time.

A couple of weeks ago, the Husband caught me taking work calls on the track at the gym.  I was definitely NOT focusing on me.  I need to learn how to set boundaries and stick to them. 

SOURCE

One of my big issues is unplugging and being quiet.  I have a feeling that part of my not sleeping issue is the fact that I spend sooo much time with noise and activity that my body doesn’t have time to quiet down.  I am hoping that I can spend 15 minutes in bed tonight before the Husband gets there to just be quiet and complete my thoughts.  Hopefully, if I can work out my thoughts early, sleeping comfortably will be easier.

Tomorrow will definitely be a day that will test my limits.  I need to remember that if I don’t finish my work tomorrow, it will wait for me patiently on my desk until I come back.

Are you able to walk away from work at the end of the day?

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized, Work

4 responses to “Don’t lose yourself!

  1. I too had to learn and learn the hard way. I am lucky in that I walk or cycle to work and that detaches me from work enough.

  2. Learn that skill now – and practice it. Makes life much easier, healthier, and more enjoyable.

Leave a Reply

