Tuesday Thoughts

1) It’s Tuesday which means it is no longer Monday.  Time for a tiny celebration!

2) Yesterday I announced my first giveaway!  You have until Thursday to enter!  PLEASE DO IT!

3) There is a crazy wildfire just north of where I live.  You can find info on twitter by searching #highparkfire.

Usually I can see my mountains on the way in but not this morning, too much smoke.  My dog also came in this morning from her lounge on the porch smelling like wildfire.

4) I had planned to run outside tonight but due to the aforementioned smoke, I will be running on the treadmill at work.  I also forgot my headphones so we will see how long this lasts.

5) Final random thought:  there are far too many lurkers on this blog.  I received quite a few views yesterday and not too many comments and I am giving stuff away.  If you are lurking, please leave a comment.  I promise I don’t bite, I just want to know who is reading!

I felt like rambling this morning.  Sorry about that!  What’s on your mind today?

6 Comments

Filed under blogging, giveaway

6 responses to “Tuesday Thoughts

  1. Heather @ Better With Veggies

    The wildfire is so sad, I hope they get it under control soon! Get it done on the treadmill this afternoon, no excuses! 😉

  2. The fires are dreadful – we have family in Ft Collins area. Some of our favorite hiking canyons are toast, literally. (run animals run!)
    It would be wise to run on the treadmill and keep the smoke out of your lungs (depending on the wind direction)
    Going to be a long hot summer – keep an eye out.

  3. Fast forward to yesterday. I knew I’d need help with the growler and I also knew it would pair perfectly with food so I enlisted the help of my friend Noe who has been a big help in my Mexican cooking skills. He really liked the beer like I knew he would and he was surprised at the heat that came from the beer. What we both really liked was the pepper flavor that is very prevalent in this beer as well. Needless to say it paired very well with the tamales, carnitas and chorizo that we ate for lunch. One pint was plenty for me so I decided to save the rest of the growler to make my own carnitas tonight with it. I’m really looking forward to it, especially since I’m making my carnitas with my new favorite pepper, pablanos. I love the smokiness you get from them and can’t wait to see how the beer and the peppers work together. The next beer is a style that’s a usual suspect when Noe and I get together for beers and dinner, smoked beers. It’s a style of beer that I’m not crazy about by itself but is one of my favorites when paired with food. This was a bottle from my cellar and not from the upcoming release and while the smoke faded slightly, the presence still left made for a nice glass of beer to finish up the meal with.

Leave a Reply

