Where did the summer go?

I can’t believe it’s already August 1st.  We are 2/3’s of the way through the summer and I don’t know where it went. I didn’t set up any kind of summer bucket list but it definitely feels like I haven’t done quite as much as I would have hoped.

Let’s first check in on last month’s goal.   I had set out to do 100 fitness miles throughout the month of July.  I did so much tracking and extra biking and I still fell a little short.  I ended up hitting a total of 72 miles.  While this isn’t the 100 that I had hoped for, it’s about 50 more miles than I would normally accomplish.  I’ll take it!  I know that I feel like I’m in better shape already.  I feel good getting out and moving.  Knowing that I can jog a bit and enjoy it is excellent!  That is more than enough for me as an achievement.

For August, I am going to set the same bar of 100 miles of fitness.  I can walk the dog, bike the trails, or hit the road for a run.  Anything can count, I just have to remember to get out and get moving!  I am still struggling to get workouts down in the morning but I know with the August heat I am going to have to suck it up and get moving before the sun.

Secondly, I am signing up for an October race.  As soon as I crossed the line at City Park, my mind was spinning on the next one.  I have decided that October is far enough away that I can give myself some more time to train.  It’s down in Golden and it’s just over 5 miles.  I am going to repeat the last few weeks of my last training plan and then start building.  I just need to build my after plan.

Finally, in August we are going to Sonoma.  I want to run along the Pacific Ocean and maybe through a vineyard.  I can’t wait to see what options I have!

I am definitely working on myself this month.  What are you up to?

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Where did the summer go?

  1. Heather @ Better With Veggies

    Which race did you pick? Depending on the timing, I might be able to join you!

Leave a Reply

