Starting a new plan

After my 5k, I fell off the truck (and hard!).  I continued to eat well for the most part and we still biked and walked the dog but I haven’t been out on my own for a run/jog/walk.  I know it’s only been a few weeks but it feels like an eternity.  Being the planner that I am, I went out seeking a professional’s advice.

I have seen a name over and over again when looking at plans and other training plans.  Hal Higdon seems to be the expert when it comes to getting ready for any distance.  I am still learning about who he is but his plans seem to be reasonable and flexible.  Definitely what I need.  So here is the full plan if you are interested.

As for week one:

Week Mon Tues Wed Thur Fri Sat Sun Miles
1 Stretch & strength 2 m run 30 min cross 2 m run + strength Rest 30 min cross 2 m run 6

We will definitely be adding some modifications to this.  Rest days don’t necessarily mean that they are avoid exercise days.  The Husband and I will be doing things together.  We will also be hiking or biking for the cross sections so that we can work out together.  Because of this, we may do more at the beginning than later when the running becomes more intense.

Hopefully, if this plan works I can cut some minutes off of my mile time and finish a 5 mile distance in October.

I’m Wondering: Have you heard of Hal Higdon?  What do you think?

3 Comments

Filed under Fitness, Uncategorized

3 responses to “Starting a new plan

  1. Heather @ Better With Veggies

    I think Hal Higdon does a good job with his plans, although sometimes the mileage is lower than I recommend when it gets to longer distances. He’s a trusted resource and I respect his opinion greatly! You’re in good hands.

  2. Pingback: Hal Higdon: Running « Rubber Tyres --> Smooth Rides

Leave a Reply

