Monday Suds: Bootstrap

The front range of Colorado has seen a boom in new breweries so that has left me with plenty of exploring to do.  I saw three announcements this weekend alone for new breweries in Boulder.  One new brewery that has popped up is BootStrap Brewing.  This brewery has been thought and planned through over the last 5 years and was opened this Spring in Niwot.

While we were at BootStrap, we were able to chat about some of the 8 beers on tap with one of the brewers, David Mentus.  David is the namesake behind the IPA and was more than happy to show us around.

The brew system here is a 3.5 Barrell system with 4 large fermenters.  The really cool part of the brew system here is the copper kettle.  There are windows through to the brew house so you can see this pretty piece of equipment up close.

We tried all eight beers out on the patio.  I was torn between the IPA and the Golden Ale.  Surprisingly, the husband liked the fruit beer on tap, Berry Yummy.  It was refreshing and light and not on the sweet side at all.  When I see a fruit beer on the menu, I generally run the other way but I even had a full pint to confirm my suspicions that it was good.

The two beers on tap that I would put in the “interesting’ category are the Chile Beer and the Amber.  The Chile beer would be great for cooking but it was definitely spicy.  When I picked up the tray, this is the one that I could smell from a mile away.  the Amber beer was called Flagstaff and the smokey notes behind it evoke thoughts of a campfire (or wildfire, whatever the case may be).

Overall, I would say that this is a place that I would put on my visit again list.  I would love to check in with them at a year and see how the beers and the styles grow and change.  Right now, I think there are some winners and worth the exploration in Niwot.

5 Comments

Filed under Beer

5 responses to “Monday Suds: Bootstrap

  1. Awesome post, Kim, and thank you for sharing your beer and tasting with us. I have to tell you that I am not a big fan, yet, of IPA’s, but since my son and son-in-law brew beers at home, I am learning how to appreciate them. My favorite beers are the stouts, especially chocolate stout. Yum!

    By the way, my name is Virginia (HomeRearedChef at BlogHer.com), and I am an addicted Foodie. 🙂

    • Kim @ Wonderings

      We’ve been brewing at home as well. Definitely taking our food (and chemistry) knowledge to the next level. Thanks for taking the time to comment!

  2. Pingback: Monday Suds: Gravity Brewing | Wonderings of a Twenty Something

  3. Pingback: Monday Suds: Big Beaver | Wonderings of a Twenty Something

  4. Pingback: Monday Suds: Where to next? | Wonderings of a Twenty Something

Leave a Reply

