Balance

This morning, like many others, I found myself with an alarm clock going off before the sun was shining or even peaking out.

English: The face of a black windup alarm clock

All I wanted was to stay under the covers and possibly drink some coffee in bed.  Today, I had the luxury of cuddling with Maggie while the Husband got himself ready to leave before dawn.   We do have days where as soon as my hair is dry, we are in the car and heading in to work.  Once I get to work and get moving, generally working through lunch and giving it all I have.  Once the day is over, it’s time to get home and heat something up for dinner, nothing too exciting but hopefully balanced.  By 7:00 PM I am in pajamas and considering lights out around 9:00.

What you might notice is the lack of me time, fitness, or too much family time.  I haven’t been prioritizing us very well.  When I have a goal at work, that’s what gets in my head.  I spend the evenings checking email and making sure that things are plugging away.  I worry about getting things done and making sure that everyone is getting what they need from me.  Most of the time, my workout goes by the wayside as does walking the dog.  I am just too worn out to keep moving.  We haven’t been making fun (and healthy) meals because we don’t feel creative when we get home.

I know that I can schedule and plan and spreadsheet out as much as I want but if I don’t want to do it, it’s probably not going to happen.  So today, this changes.  Even though I’m tired, I need to get up and go for a run or walk the dog.  We need to stick to our menu plan so that we eat healthier (and less junk).  And I need to make time to do what I want.  When was the last time I read a book for fun?  Or played a game?  Or went on a bike ride?  It’s time to focus a little bit inward.

How do you take care of yourself?

5 Comments

Filed under Family, Inspiration, Uncategorized, Work

5 responses to “Balance

  1. I know exactly how you feel. With only one car for us right now, I have a lot less time to do the things I *want* to do because I don’t have the luxury of thinking only about me. The first few weeks, I wasn’t working out because we had to leave earlier for work and got home later from work – So instead, I’ve made a commitment to myself to always exercise during my lunch. Even if it’s just walking 1 mile, getting up and away from my desk in the afternoon always makes me feel physically and emotionally better.

    And sometimes, life is just crazy for a little bit – so don’t be too hard on yourself if you’ve been working super hard for a few weeks – as long as there’s a light at the end of the tunnel where you can see your return to balance, sometimes the craziness is inevitable!

    • Kim @ Wonderings

      We are thinking about going down to one car. I’m worried that the long hours may literally suck the life out of me. We are doing a trial run but our schedules aren’t meshing yet…

  2. This sounds like where I was at last month. Enter #operationpants fit. I hate jobs that require you to work around the clock. Maybe setting boundaries (for yourself, and/or for your employer) would be a great way to start reclaiming some of this time?

    • Kim @ Wonderings

      It’s all self-imposed stress at work. I don’t think they are expecting me to work extra hours but I do because that’s how I’ve always been!

  3. What’s Next? So if you’re convinced by now, good! Set the alarm for 4:30 am, hop in bed and have at it! No… I’m just kidding… that’s not how it works. At least not for me – if you want to start incorporating a morning workout into your schedule, I recommend you do it gradually and take things one step at a time. Start by waking up 30 minutes earlier each day – then doing the workout every other day – then finally going into the full fledged routine. When I started doing this I found two things to help the most. 1. Putting my alarm clock away from the bed. It forced me to get up and didn’t allow my “sleep mode” robotic arm to turn it off. 2. Having everything ready – it is just so much more motivating knowing your shoes, water, towel, and speedos (just kidding) are all laid out and ready to help you greet the day. Being productive ensures you get the most out of every day you live. If your mornings are slow – I encourage you to evaluate your waking routine and see if you can incorporate a jolt of exercise energy! Are you lazy in the morning? – Or do you currently experience the productivity boost from an AM workout? Share your experience and tips below!

Leave a Reply

