Hitting the wall…

We knew it would happen… We prepared and researched to avoid this.  And still it happened.

blackjack

We ordered pizza, veggie and cheese at least, because the thought of another fish or plant based dinner made me want nothing for dinner instead.  I was exhausted and pining for comfort food and nothing we had on hand was going to do it. When the Husband asked me what I wanted, I flopped onto the couch and declared that cereal was going to be my dinner.  Looking back at it, I realize that I was acting like a toddler and probably should have put myself to bed right away.  As he didn’t want cereal for dinner he found a coupon for pizza and dinner was delivered!  As I wasn’t in the mood for food, I waited but I eventually caved and had a piece.

We had originally set up this plan so that we would not be bored with our food choices and now we find ourselves, well, bored.  Thankfully, we have a couple of cheat nights built in (like Valentine’s Day) and we have homemade sushi on the menu.  With all of the great recipes we dug out, we thought we had this in the bag but it hasn’t been so easy.  Most nights, I am excited to try something new but when I just want junk, fish isn’t going to cut it.

For those of you who choose to limit your diet, how do you keep things exciting?

Any exciting plans for Valentine’s Day?

5 Comments

Filed under Food

5 responses to “Hitting the wall…

  1. Brainstorming for junk food you can still eat: mac-n-cheese, baked french fries with a veggie burger, a bean-based chili soup with cheese (served over fritos for a ‘junk’ fix, or baked potato), pad thai with tofu and shrimp, cheese quesidillas, stir-fry, etc. I’m just thinking of some of my favorites. Not every dinner has to be fish based. I know I’d get sick of fish very quickly. Check out http://peasandthankyou.com/ for some delicious veggie meals. Seriously, her soups and desserts are crazy good. 🙂 Hope you break out of the boredom soon!

  2. I pin a lot of recipes that I see on blogs, so when I meal plan I have new choices to choose from. Then there’s always the “junk” staples like vegan nacho cheeze, jambalaya, and throw everything in a pot stew when we’re less creative and just want something easy. 🙂

  3. I don’t think you hit a wall. I don’t like the idea of “cheat” days. I like the idea of being able to enjoy whatever you want whenever you want. If you give yourself permission to eat what you want, when you want it, you end up not wanting it as much (if that makes sense). When I try to lose weight now, I focus on adding MORE of the “good” things instead of cutting out the “bad” things. It seems to help! 🙂

    • Well, we are eating this way as a challenge to our cooking and our routine, not really to lose weight. That has just been a bonus! When we set this up, we knew their would be times that would just eat what we wanted but cooking at home has become a mental exercise…

Leave a Reply

