Don’t count on it

I always set out with the best of intentions. 

We set up our weekly menu, shopping list, coupons, exercise plan, and a whole pile of lists.  I set out with the intention to sleep at least 8 solid hours of quality sleep.  I plan on only eating the things on my plan for the day and avoiding the office snacks.  I plan on driving out of the parking garage after work without incident…

And sometimes you can’t count on anything. 

Last Friday, the car that we bought brand new last July got two lovely dents from a parking garage arm.  That really set the tone for my whole weekend.  I couldn’t seem to put anything in a good light and I wasn’t the quintessential pessimist.  As we planned, I just grumped around asking the Husband what the point was, nothing ever turns out how we plan.  We ended up spending the majority of the weekend in our pajamas and being together.

And then it hit me,

Sunday while we watched the first F1 race on TV, that I could count on one thing.  That the Husband will always be there for me and there will always be lazy Sundays spent enjoying each other’s company.  No matter how tough things get and no matter what life throws at me, I will always have my family to come home to.  The Husband will always be there to park my car in the garage if I’ve had a rough day or just to make sure that the most comfortable pajamas in the house are laid out for me when I get home after a stressful day.

Just remember to be thankful for what you have and that you have other days ahead to plan!

Leave a comment

Filed under Family

Leave a Reply

