Monday Suds: Mountain Sun

While the family was in town this weekend, we were able to take them to some of our favorite restaurants, hiking trails, and breweries.  I noticed that after we headed to Boulder, I hadn’t shared one of my favorite spots, the Mountain Sun.  This is a great brewery downtown that I was able to enjoy with some of my favorite Blends last May

Borrowed from Laura at sprint2thetable.com

Brewery Borrowed from Laura at sprint2thetable.com

I thought I would go back and let you know a little bit about their beer!

monday-sudsFINAL.png

From the website :

Menu

The Mountain Sun first opened its doors in October of 1993. As corporations and concept restaurants swamped downtown Boulder, we realized our town needed a community-based neighborhood pub. For inspiration and our first brewer, we looked to the thriving pub and micro-brew scene of Oregon.

Our beers have won medals across the globe, including six gold medals at the Great American Beer Festival in Denver, the world’s largest beer festival. And over the years, our brewpubs have consistently been voted the best in Boulder in the local media.”

beer

I was able to enjoy the Illusion Dweller IPA.  This was a big beer with intense hop flavors and subtle smokey notes.  What I really love about the Mountain Sun is the selection of interesting beers.  Every there has a Boulder spin and the Colorado hops!

Taps

They have great lunch and a great atmosphere.  Love to grab and beer and salad on their patio in the summer.  Mountain Sun is part of a larger group of brewpubs and I can’t wait to hit up Vine Street in Denver.

Word of warning though, CASH ONLY!

3 Comments

Filed under Beer, blogging, Monday Suds

3 responses to “Monday Suds: Mountain Sun

  1. I really enjoyed that place, and I’m glad you blogged about it because somebody was asking about where to go in Boulder to eat, and I loved that place!

  2. Pingback: What I love Wednesday | Wonderings of a Twenty Something

Leave a Reply

