Finding your happy

So when I wake up in the morning, there are days that I wish I could make a tasty latte, open a magazine, and really enjoy the nest of sheets and blankets I’ve made before getting a move on and getting out the door.  Sadly, most days I don’t have that luxury.  The occasional Sunday finds me in bed with my latte and sometimes even my breakfast but Monday through Friday, I am woken up pretty early by the most annoying tone on my phone that I can find.

I help get our lunches packed, coffee made, and breakfast in some state of edible.  Once the Husband is out the door, it’s my turn to get ready and head off to my office.  While every commute is not the dream I wish it were, I have to put myself in a place of happy to set the tone for the rest of my day.

How do you unwind?

I’ve found things that help, like 10 minutes of cuddle time with the pup after the husband leaves as I soak up the news that happened overnight.  I also have found podcasts, like Pop Culture Happy Hour, that have made it easy for me to laugh the whole way to work. Seriously, it works to laugh to set the tone for the rest of the day.

Enjoy your time!

My previous job had me working some weekends and now that I have a more regular job, I have really learned to enjoy my two days off and really unwind.

market.jpg

I have found that the key to a really good week is a great weekend.  It’s important to get out and take in as much Vitamin D as possible.  I also have found that creating things to look forward to, like dinner with friends or a date night with my husband, definitely make the work week more bearable.

Focus on the good.

One thing that I have found really helpful are my Friday Five posts.  It’s really great to sit down at the end of the week to think about things that have made my smile, chuckle, or really think.  By focusing on the good parts of my week, it is hard to dwell on the negative.

flowerfocus.jpg

Leave a comment

Filed under Family, Inspiration, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

