Monday Suds: When in Rome

Or in my case, Ohio, drink as the Ohioans do.  Our lovely hosts (the Husband’s family) had stocked the fridge with local craft beer that piqued my interest.  Whenever we travel, we usually have to find time to at least stop at one local watering hole.  On this trip, we managed to fit in two different local favorites.

Columbus Brewing Company

Colubus Brewing

Our first stop of the day was Columbus Brewing Company.  We had just had lunch so unfortunately we weren’t able to try the food this time around.  I started looking at the beer menu.  There was a handful of choices that I was ready to try.  Then our server stopped by our table and I was told that there were only two beers on tap, the award winning Pale Ale and an IPA.  Both were pretty good but I couldn’t taste too much of a difference between the two.  Maybe I should have tried the coffee like the other end of the table!

Columbus Mug

The space was great and so was the service so when I am back in Columbus, we will be stopping by to see what else we can get on tap.  Find them on Twitter and Facebook to find out more!

Columbus Brewing Sign

Elevator Brewing Company

Elevator Pint

Before we headed back to the house, we stopped in at the Elevator.  This business added a brewery in 1999 to their already very busy business.  When we stopped in, there were a few seats at the bar but the restaurant was booked solid!  Apparently a restaurant to check out next time.  Anyone been here?  Any good?

Elevator CeilingWell the flight of beer I had was delicious.  And to top it off, they were served in small champagne flutes!  They have over 10 beers of their own tap and guest taps available as well.  You can check out the full list here.  My favorite beer of the evening was the seasonal Christmas beer.  I love a beer that can evoke a good feeling or memory.  This is a beer that makes me think of a Christmas bread we used to eat when I was a kid full of nutmeg and cinnamon.

I think I could have sat at Elevator all night just to look at the building.  It has incredible original architecture, a beautiful bar, and a tin ceiling that was incredible.  Between the beer, the smell of the incredible steak dinners going out, and the beautiful setting I would have to list this as one of my favorite stops in Columbus.

Elevator Stand

Find them on Twitter and Facebook to find out more!

Kim at elevator

Kim

Leave a comment

Filed under Beer, Monday Suds

Leave a Reply

