Monday Suds: Ladies in Blindfolds

This week the tasting I went to looked a little like this…

 

image

 

The image did load correctly, you are seeing a black square.  That’s because I attended Barley’s Angels Blind Tasting.  You can check out their site here.  They have meetings all over the front range the one on Wednesday happened to be in my backyard.

CAM01028

I was intrigued when I got the description.

Bring your blindfolds (we know you have them: men’s dress ties, fabric pieces, cloth ties to dresses) and tune into your palate at this tasting featuring Gerry Leary, owner of Boulder’s the Unseen bean coffee shop. We’ll enjoy three tasters of Left Hand craft beer, first without looking at it, then in full sight. Food pairings are provided by Lori’s Cuisine and include food made with coffee from the Unseen Bean.

So I took off my glasses and donned my blindfold and we were ready to taste.  I will say that I think this event would have been a bit more fun for me if I had done it somewhere besides Left Hand.  I had a bit of an advantage when it came to recognizing the beers and the carbonation choice.  It was fun though to see how each of the beers paired with the dessert menu.  Lori Marcolina did all of the food and it was incredible (sidebar, if you need a caterer, she is tops!  She can even do vegetarian so let me know if you need her info.)  Most of the pictures below were taken with the blindfold on.  I definitely had to go through a lot to find these!

CAM01031 CAM01034

CAM01032 CAM01035

Overall, it was great to hear about another local women’s group and a way to get involved in the beer community.

TGIF, Kim

Leave a comment

Filed under Beer, Monday Suds

Leave a Reply

