Monday Suds: Powder Keg Brewing

 

 

 

I definitely feel like I have been in hiding the last few weeks.  I guess when life gets busy, you tend to ignore the things you like doing.  To kick off our birthday week, the Husband and I hit a few new breweries in the area.  First up was Powder Keg Brewing.

IMG_5332Powder Keg has been open for a few months (mid summer opening) and as usual, I waited for the kinks of a new business to work themselves out before dropping by.  We parked out front right as they were opening for the weekend grabbed a seat at the bar.

IMG_5324When I think about some of my favorite styles, I usually don’t put saison near the top of my list.  They usually hit me as a little too fruity or too sour.  With the PKB list in front of me, I noticed that there was a farmhouse style ale, a saison, and an infused saison.  To say I was skeptical is an understatement.

And they I sipped…

IMG_5330and I was blown away!  My favorite beer on the list was the Chene Cerise which was the farmhouse all infused with cherry flavor.  It was easy drinking and the cherry was there but it didn’t hit you in the face like a can of cherry pie filling would.  This was real fruit flavor mixed artfully with the sensible beer.

IMG_5327I would definitely recommend a stop at Powder Keg Brewing for a beer and snack if you ever find yourself killing time in Niwot.  There isn’t a full kitchen but a small selection of warm snacks and empanadas.  Solid beer, beautiful building, and a great atmosphere.  We will be back (and soon!).

IMG_5326

You can check out their beer list here and the Powder Keg Facebook page here.     IMG_5331

1 Comment

Filed under Beer, Monday Suds

One response to “Monday Suds: Powder Keg Brewing

Leave a Reply

