BlogHer Book Club “The Magic Room”

Recently, I have been able to dole out my sage words of wisdom about planning a wedding.  I have only been married a year and a half and I have been  telling my friends that there are two things that you need for wedding planning to be a breeze, the venue and the dress!  The dress sets the mood for the entire event and definitely tells everyone who is helping you get ready what kind of day you want to have.

In Jeffrey Zaslow’s book The Magic Room he tells the stories of the brides and families at Becker’s Bridal in Michigan.  While a lot of the book was about the family behind Becker’s bridal, I found the stories about the brides to be the core.  I also purchased my dress in a small Midwestern bridal shop so it was interesting to think about the brides in the books as I remember the other brides in the small store the day I picked my dress.  What tragedies or joys did they bring with them to their fitting?  The details of each of the stories pull at your heartstrings and keep you cheering for their big day!  I didn’t enjoy that the stories were divided up but I was glad when they reappeared later on in the book.

I feel that this book was a wonderful combination of emotional heartache, intricate backstory, and love bigger than the Magic Room at Becker’s Bridal.  I found myself wanting to know more about the brides, finding out how their stories are working out.  This book would make a great gift between sisters or mothers and daughters or even aunts and nieces who have purchased a dress or who are about to make that amazing trip!

My review of The Magic Room is a paid review from the Publisher and BlogHer.

2 thoughts on “BlogHer Book Club “The Magic Room”

Leave a comment