Monday Suds: Prost Brewing and Beer Cocktails?

IMG_2379

Before we dropped the parents off at the airport last weekend, we took them for a quick stop in Denver.  One of the newer breweries in town is Prost!  I was able to meet one of their brewers, Ashleigh, a few months back at an Ales4Females event.  I was shocked to hear from Ashleigh how few female brewers there are and had to stop by and support what she was doing.

IMG_2375

I really found the story of their brew equipment incredible!  From the website:

“The Brewery was made by the Ziemann GmbH in 1963. It was installed at the Bucher Bräu in the German city of Grafenau and used there until 1984. In 1984 it was overhauled and sold to Brauerei Hümmer of Breitengüßbach, Germany, a village in the Franconian region of Bavaria.”

I think that the history of brewing that they have been able to bring to the Front Range is such a compliment to an incredible beer scene!

IMG_2360

With such great equipment, they are able to brew a few incredible beers.  When we stopped in we were about to sample a Pilsner, a Weiss Beer, and a Dunkel.  What I was surprised to find was that there were only 3 beers on tap.  That means that you really have to like a good german beer when you stop in.  While all were flavorful I was more intrigued by what I found on the bottom of the menu.

IMG_2366

IMG_2364

That’s right!  Beer cocktails!  While I have seen these pop up all over, I generally stick to the brew as it comes out of the tap.  I think brewers and brewery owners all have their own opinions on this subject.  Some brewers would serve you beer untouched, out of the tap.  They wouldn’t out so much time into a beer if they weren’t proud of the flavor.  Some brewers take their patrons advice and mix some of the most popular to make something new!  And some will mix their beer with lemon lime soda!  And let me tell you, it was delicious!

IMG_2374

The Russ’n pictured above was cool and refreshing!  It was carbonated and sweet without being too much.  What I really loved was it was like a shandy or an Arnold Palmer.  I can’t wait to try more of this during the summer at home on the patio.

What I really loved about Prost is the beer garden feel in the middle of Denver.  The beer was tasty and well crafted and I can’t wait to see what other incredible things they do.  And I really can’t wait to try their Marzen later on in the year.

IMG_2378

Leave a comment