You can check that off the list!

So I did it and I have proof!  I actually completed a 5k.  It was the Underwearness 5k in Denver’s City Park.  It was in the evening and almost 100 degrees.  I may have walked more than I planned but I did it and it felt AWESOME!  That’s me coming across the line!  Thanks for the pictures, Heidi!

finish

While my time wasn’t what I planned (44:47) I finished.  I didn’t cut corners and I came through the finish.

victory

It was great to come across the line to see some great people (Heidi, Lynne, Heather, Lauren)!  I had a blast and can’t wait to sign up for another.

While I admit that I haven’t done a lot of mileage since finishing, I definitely plan on getting a better time the next time around.  I am going to redo the last few weeks of the Couch to 5k.  Now that I know what it feels like, I could definitely do it again!  I’m looking at the Golden Gallup in October.  It’s 5 miles instead of a 5k but I definitely think it’s doable.

I’m Wondering: Do you remember your first 5k?  What was it like?

 
 
 

8 thoughts on “You can check that off the list!

  1. Yay! I’m glad you did it.

    My first race was actually the Bix 7 (which you should be familiar with). My dad ran it every year and I signed up for it the minute I started running.

    My first 5K was the Pi Mile run at ISU. Not fun. I ran with my HS boyfriend who I had just broken up with and I was annoyed that hee kept talking to some girl.

  2. I’m so proud of you, you need to pick your next goal to motivate you to get going again. 🙂

Leave a comment